Epistles of Thomas

December 1, 2008

Jesus and the Gospels

In January I will be teaching an adult Sunday school class on Jesus. I am looking for a textbook that is advanced enough for a college course but still general enough for Sunday school. What I conceived in my mind is best seen in Craig Blomberg, Jesus and the Gospels. Nashville: Broadman & Holman Publishers, 1997. Unfortunately it is hardcover and a little expensive, even if I could get enough copies. Amazon.ca is not selling it which makes me a little nervous. I have been looking at Richard A. Burridge, Four Gospels, One Jesus: A Symbolic Reading. 2nd ed. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2005. The price is right but it lacks chapters on cultural background, something which Blomberg has. I’ve been looking through Burridge’s book on Google’s preview and am pleased with what he does have even if my audience does not relate to Winston Churchill.

Does anyone have a favourite textbook that includes both an overview of the cultural period preceding Jesus and an overview of the gospel materials and how they fit within the first century? Or if you have around18 copies of Blomberg’s book and want to sell them for $15 each, I’ll take the lot :).

2 Comments »

  1. What about this?
    http://www.amazon.com/Challenge-Jesus-Rediscovering-Who-Was/dp/0830822003/ref=si3_rdr_bb_product

    Supplement it with:
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/reader/0802841325/ref=sib_dp_pt#reader-link

    I can’t think of anyone better when it comes to cultural and historical analysis in the first century.

    Comment by pj — December 3, 2008 @ 21:49 | Reply

  2. Thanks for the suggestions PJ. I had a look at The Challenge of Jesus as someone at church has it. It wasn’t quite what I wanted. Following Jesus looks interested as it brings in the other NT writings. I’m trying to keep it to one book and under $20 which is why I’m leaning towards Burridge, Four Gospels, One Jesus. It’s a little British but his writing style seems suited to a SS class. Wright can be a little heavy as well as being British. Not that there’s anything wrong with Brits ;-).

    Comment by Thomas — December 4, 2008 @ 11:02 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

