Epistles of Thomas

January 1, 2009

Books of 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Thomas @ 12:11

It’s 2009 today! Last year was another year full or reading. For a bibliophile like myself it’s a pleasure to read as much as I can but all things in moderation! In 2008, I finished 104 books which is just above my goal of reading 100 books per year. I started keeping track on December 9, 1986 and have read 2805 books since then. Below I list a few of my 2008 reads. In the coming days I hope to post a list of books I plan on finishing in 2009.

Longest book of 2008: The Message by Eugene Peterson. The Bible never counts on the NY Times best seller list so the second longest book of 2008 was A World History of Christianity edited by Adrian Hastings.

Shortest book of 2008: The Innkeeper by John Piper.

Hardest to finish: His Master’s Voice by Stanislaw Lem. I really enjoyed The Cyberiad by Lem so I was delighted to find another of his books for 50 cents. Unfortunately, it was really hard to read. It’s premise is similar to Contact by Carl Sagan but was a real struggle to get through.

Most talked about: The Shack by William P. Young. Need I say more? 🙂

Most surprisingly good/Best biography: Never Alone! by Paul Goetze. This book is self published and was given to ACTS graduates as a present. It is about Goetze’s life, primarily his surviving WW2 and then serving as a pastor in East Germany. It deserves to be published professionally and only requires a little editing.

Best for training youth workers: Bored with God by Sean Dunn. This short little book is invaluable in working with youth. Best of all it is short enough for harried youth workers to read.

Best trilogy/quadrilogy: The Lost Books (Chosen, Infidel, Renegade, Chaos) by Ted Dekker. This was a new entry into our church library and I was surprised with how good the series is although I thought he got tired by the end. I also read his The Martyr’s Song and discovered that he is a good writer overall. Apologies must be made to C.S. Lewis as I finished his Space trilogy this year but as I began it in 2007 it doesn’t count. That said, the three volumes are excellent on their own and That Hideous Strength could profitably be read instead of George Orwell’s high school classic, Animal Farm.

Best children’s book: Go, Dog. Go! by P.D. Eastman. I was over at a friend’s house and read this to their son. A great book!

Best teaching book: Teaching to Change Lives by Howard G. Hendricks. I found this to be a good, practical book written by someone who has obviously done a lot of teaching. It would be interesting to sit in on one of his classes and see him in action.

Oldest book: The Life of Our Lord by Charles Dickens.

Happy Reading!! Happy New Year!!

1 Comment »

  1. Yay for books 🙂

    The Shack… My dad read it first and bought 2 more copies. I read it over Christmas break in China and we ordered another 13 copies when we got home =P

    I started reading Lewis’ Space trilogy last year too, but I haven’t finished yet. I long for 9-5 work days when I can go home and have nothing else to do but read books that I want to read, but for now education textbooks shall suffice. 🙂

    Anyways, xin nian kuai le!

    Comment by Ping — January 26, 2009 @ 16:09 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

