Epistles of Thomas

February 25, 2009

GPS mapping and the will of God

Filed under: Pastoral — Thomas @ 16:36
Tags: ,

I have been reading some ‘classics’ this year, one of which is Experiencing God by Henry T. Blackaby and Claude V. King. I recently learned that our annex building was once a Baptist church which Blackaby attended. Chapter three talks about doing God’s will and they say: “Once I know God’s will, then I can adjust my life to him and his purposes…Once I know what God is doing, then I know what I need to do. The focus needs to be on God and His purposes, not my life!” (18). He is responding to the felt need of many for God to lay out the plan for their life so they know exactly what career to prepare for, where to live, who to marry, etc. This got me thinking about my Garmin GPS again. I recently updated it to the latest edition of maps but that did not solve the problem of the Queensborough Bridge changes which were finished last summer. Even with the latest map road changes are not always reflected. I have heard that it can take up to two years for updates to occur. Google which uses TeleAtlas is still behind on this as well. I was imagining going ahead in time and buying a GPS. Then I would have the latest maps and would never have any trouble. But the question is how far to go ahead in time? At least two years I guess but perhaps 10 years would be better or perhaps 60 years and then I could be almost certain that I would never need to buy another map update as long as I am driving. However, I realised that a map 60 years from now is only good 60 years from now – I need a map that is always current, not one that is good in the future or my GPS will be trying to get me to drive on roads that aren’t built yet.
What they are saying in this chapter is similar. We can’t expect God to map out our whole lives for us ahead of time because if we know now what we don’t need to know until then we will be trying to travel on roads that are not yet built. Imagine the reaction of that cute girl when you tell her you are destined to marry in eight years! If you know God’s will and always live in such a way as to reflect his desires – to love God and neighbour – you don’t need to worry about the road not being there or being changed.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

