Epistles of Thomas

December 31, 2009

Read the Bible in 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Thomas @ 12:06

Another year, another chance to read through the Bible. There are a number of reading plans available online, the ESV crew list several here. The most important thing about a reading plan is to stick with it!

The first Bible I read through completely was The Student Bible NIV. It has a three year reading planning in the back – one chapter per day. I shamefully admit that it took me five years to finally finish following that plan. On my next attempt I picked up a little brochure which encouraged reading the Bible in one year at the rate of three chapters per day. I managed to read the NASB in one year and then continued on to read the NRSV with Apocrypha, the NLT, the CEV, the NEB with Apocrypha, and the Message. As you know I am currently reading through the TNIV and blogging on it. This has taken longer than anticipated but I think it is well worth the time.

For younger readers I would recommend The Book of God by Walter Wangerin Jr. When I was young I asked my mom for something easier to read than the KJV and she gave me a Living Bible. I was actually looking for something like Wangerin’s The Book of God.

I am also currently reading the ESV, HCSB, NETS (Septuagint), and rereading the NRSV. All of these are translations are worth the time and as they say, “Variety is the spice of life.”

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

