Epistles of Thomas

January 2, 2011

2010 in Reading

Filed under: Uncategorized — Thomas @ 4:52
Tags:

This post is dedicated to Aunt Joan who cares about such things :).

2010 was a busy year for us but I managed to do some reading in my spare time; on buses, on airplanes, on trains. It turned out to be a bumper year in the statistics department. I read more pages than in any year other than 1989, which was awhile ago!

Total books finished: 237
Total pages read 45, 580
Average length of a book: 192 pages
Number of non-English books: 1
Best months: January (30 books), February (27) and April (26)
Slowest months: June and October (13 each and only 2261 pages in October)

My average is consistent with other years; above my overall average of 178 but below other years. This is due to a number of short books I read. There were no monster months – the page count was pretty steady throughout the year. My longest book of the year was definitely Three Kingdoms, the classic Chinese historical novel. I’ve finished the first two of four volumes. The volumes are paged consecutively, weighing in at over 2300 pages total, including notes.

I discovered that I have read 126 of 8,756 New York Times bestsellers, which is 1.4390132480584741891274554591138%. You can check out the list on LibraryThing. http://www.librarything.com/bookaward/New+York+Times+bestseller

My wife bought me an e-reader for Christmas but gave it to me a little early in October! I’m enjoying the e-ink screen and battery life. I haven’t had to recharge it yet and I’ve read thousands of pages. I’ve discovered the joys of free epubs on sites like Gutenberg.org. I read some Mark Twain (Tom Sawyer of course), and some Lewis Carroll and P.G.Wodehouse. Perhaps you can tell by my NYTimes statistic above that I’m not that interested in bestsellers (and over 10% of those are by John Grisham) and with all the free classics available I wonder why people still shell out good money for the latest and greatest overpriced bestsellers. I suppose they need to look cultured and not in a snooty librarian way (sorry hard working bibliophiles!).

I read my first all Chinese book last week. It was a murder mystery aimed at those of us with little vocabularly. It wasn’t bad and I enjoyed being able to recognise most of the characters I have learned.

Have a great 2011 and don’t forget to read a few books!

1 Comment »

  1. I am very very impressed. To say the least, I am really ashame of myself, I have so many books sitting there and none of them are finished.
    Hey, by the way,one random tidbit, do you know that they are going to revise Huckleberry Finn? In place of the “N” word which is used throughout the book, they are going to replace it.
    see, told you,it is random.

    Comment by mamaj — January 8, 2011 @ 21:51 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

